Govt Set To Place Imran Khan on ECL

Govt Set To Place Imran Khan on ECL
The federal government on Tuesday decided to place the names of former prime minister Imran Khan and other party leaders on the Exit Control List (ECL) following the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) verdict on the prohibited funding case.

According to a report published by The Express Tribune, the government decided to put the PTI chief, ex-governors of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Sindh, and former Utility Stores Corporation (USC) chairperson Zulqarnain Ali Khan on the list.

Earlier in the day, a three-member bench of the ECP, headed by Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sikander Sultan Raja, unanimously found that the PTI received prohibited funds from 34 foreign nationals and 351 companies based outside the country.

The commission also declared that 13 'unknown' accounts have been found linked to the party and the submissions by the PTI chief were 'inaccurate and wrong'. The party was issued a show-cause notice after the unanimous verdict, which was earlier reserved in June this year.

It is pertinent to mention that the case was filed in 2014 by PTI founding member Akbar S Babar and had been pending since November, 2014.