Opposition Finally Tables No Confidence Motion Against PM Imran

Opposition Finally Tables No Confidence Motion Against PM Imran
The opposition parties have finally submitted the much hyped no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan with the National Assembly Secretariat on Tuesday.

Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) spokesperson Marriyum Aurangzeb confirmed the development after a delegation of opposition leaders, including  Ayaz Sadiq, Saad Rafique, Maryam Aurangzeb, Rana Sanaullah, Shazia Murree, Naveed Qamar and Shahida Akhtar Ali and Alia Kamran, met at the Parliament House in Islamabad.

As per the PML-N spokesperson, National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser was not at his office due to which the opposition decided to submit the document with the secretariat.

Sources indicate the motion was signed by 86 MNAs, well over the required 68 signatures needed to requisition a session to vote on a no-confidence motion.

The motion will require the support of 172 MNAs to remove the prime minister from office.

In response, PM Imran told reporters that he was not worried about the opposition' attempts to oust his administration, claiming that there were 'multiple foreign hands' behind the opposition's move.

"We will defeat them in such a manner and they will not be able to recover from it until 2028," he said.

Arriving later,  the NA speaker affirmed the opposition's right to table the motion. "It is their legal right. If it is according to the rules, to the law, to the Constitution, it will be treated as such," he said.

In recent weeks, both the opposition and the incumbent government have scrambled to recruit political allies to their respective camps. On Monday, PTI MPA Aleem Khan met with the Jahangir Tareen Group, signalling another potential win for the opposition.

Feeling the heat, PM Imran delivered a fiery speech on Monday, directing the opposition, ““Are you ready for what I will do with you once your plans for a no-trust motion fail?”