Imran To Simultaneously Contest By-Elections Across Nine NA Seats

Imran To Simultaneously Contest By-Elections Across Nine NA Seats
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairperson Imran Khan will contest by-elections across nine National Assembly seats, the party announced on Friday.

The by-polls are scheduled for September 25. "Chairman Imran Khan will simultaneously contest from all nine National Assembly seats in the (upcoming) by-elections," the party said in a tweet.

Earlier, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) announced that by-polls on nine NA seats vacant following the resignations of PTI lawmakers will be held on the aforementioned date. According to a notification issued by the ECP, the by-elections will be held for the constituencies of NA-22 Mardan, NA-24 Charsadda, NA-31 Peshawar, NA-45 Kurram, NA-108 Faisalabad, NA-118 Nankana Sahib, as well as NA-237, 239, and 246 of Karachi.

Nomination papers can be submitted between August 10 and 13 which will be scrutinised on August 17. Election symbols will be issued to candidates on August 29.

National Assembly Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf had accepted the resignations of 11 PTI lawmakers on July 28. They include former human rights minister Shireen Mazari, former interior minister Ijaz Ahmed Shah, former state minister for parliamentary affairs Ali Muhammad Khan, former state minister for information and broadcasting Farrukh Habib, Fazal Muhammad Khan, Shaukat Ali, Fakhar Zaman Khan, Jamil Ahmed Khan, Muhammad Akram Cheema, Abdul Shakoor Shad and Shandana Gulzar Khan.