Opposition Agrees On Date For No Confidence Motion Against PM Imran

Opposition Agrees On Date For No Confidence Motion Against PM Imran
PML-N President Shahbaz Sharif, PPP Co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari, and JUI-F chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman have 'finalised and approved' a draft of the no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan, with sources close to the matter revealing that the trio has also set a date.

The three leaders held a 'delegation level' meeting at the Zardari House in Islamabad on Monday, along with other members of the opposition.

One of those present told the Tribune that the opposition had met all legal aspects and requirements of the vote of no-confidence in the National Assembly.  They further said that while the motion was ready, the decision on whether to table the no-confidence move or not would be made 'at the last moment'.

While the opposition has long criticised National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser for his partisan running of the house, it is still not clear whether if moved, the no-confidence motion would seek to first remove the NA speaker or the prime minister.  Regardless, the opposition has consistently assured that they have enough votes to obtain a majority in the house.

In recent weeks, both the opposition and the incumbent government have scrambled to recruit political allies to their respective camps. On Monday, PTI MPA Aleem Khan met with the Jahangir Tareen Group, signalling another potential win for the opposition.

Feeling the heat, PM Imran delivered a fiery speech on Monday, directing the opposition, "“Are you ready for what I will do with you once your plans for a no-trust motion fail?”