19-Member Federal Cabinet Takes Oath

PM Shehbaz has summoned the first meeting of the federal cabinet at 5 p.m. today.

19-Member Federal Cabinet Takes Oath

Following days of extensive discussions among the government's coalition, President Asif Ali Zardari administered oath to the 19-member federal cabinet on Monday. 

Earlier today, Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif suggested 19 individuals to the president for inclusion in the federal cabinet, according to a summary given to the Aiwan-e-Sadr. 

PML-N lawmakers Ahsan Iqbal, Khawaja Asif, Qaiser Ahmed Sheikh, Riaz Hussain Pirzada, Rana Tanveer, Azam Nazeer Tarar, Jam Kamal Khan, Amir Muqam, Awais Leghari, and Attaullah Tarar have been recommended for federal ministries under clause 1 of Article 92 of the Constitution. Moreover, MQM-P's Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui and the Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party's Abdul Aleem Khan's names are also included in the list.

Senators Ishaq Dar and Musadik Malik have also been proposed for appointment as federal ministers under clause 9 of Article 91 of the Constitution, since both will leave the Senate on March 12 (tomorrow) once their terms expire. 

The aforementioned rule allows the prime minister to appoint anybody who is not a member of parliament to the federal cabinet for a six-month term. 

Muhammad Aurangzeb, Ahad Khan Cheema, and Syed Mohsin Raza Naqvi are three additional names nominated for induction as federal ministers under Clause 9 of Article 91.

Meanwhile, Shaza Fatima is the sole woman to be proposed for a seat in the federal cabinet. 

Meanwhile, the premier has scheduled the first meeting of the federal cabinet at 5 p.m. today, following the oath-taking ceremony. 

After taking the oath of office, the ministers will be given their portfolios.