Azam Nazir Tarar To Lead Eight-Member Legal Reforms Committee

Tarar assumes charge as the new law and justice minister and commits to improving the law and justice system in Pakistan

Azam Nazir Tarar To Lead Eight-Member Legal Reforms Committee

Federal Minister Azam Nazir Tarar on Tuesday officially assumed charge as the new Law and Justice Minister at the Law Ministry, where he will lead an eight-member legal reforms committee. 

Senator Tarar, who returns to the law ministry following his last stint in the ministry during the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) government, reiterated his unwavering commitment to serving the nation and improving Pakistan's law and justice system. He emphasised the importance of upholding the rule of law, ensuring justice for all, and promoting transparency and accountability within the legal framework.

He further added that the prime minister has taken notice of delays in the dispensation of justice in criminal and civil matters, thus recommending reforms across criminal, civil, fiscal, and constitutional domains to streamline legal processes and ensure swift and speedy justice. 

In this regard, Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif has constituted an eight-member legal reforms committee, which will be chaired by Tarar. Other members include Finance Minister Senator Ishaq Dar, Shahid Hamid, Zahid Hamid, Makhdoom Ali Khan, the Attorney General of Pakistan, Supreme Court Bar Association of Pakistan (SCBAP) President Shahzad Shaukat, and Pakistan Bar Council (PBC) Chairman Muhammad Ahsan Bhoon.

Tarar hoped to work collectively to enhance access to justice, protect human rights, and strengthen the foundations of democracy in Pakistan.

The writer is an Islamabad based journalist working with The Friday Times. He tweets @SabihUlHussnain