PM Kakar's Caretaker Cabinet Takes Oath

The cabinet comprises 25 'technocratic' members, including seven 'Ministers of State'

PM Kakar's Caretaker Cabinet Takes Oath

Caretaker Prime Minister Anwaarul Haq Kakar's 25-member 'technocratic' cabinet was announced on Thursday evening, with seven members to occupy positions as 'junior ministers' or Ministers of State.

President Dr Arif Alvi administered the caretaker ministers the oath of their office at the Aiwan-e-Sadar (Presidency) on Thursday evening.

This is the largest cabinet for any caretaker prime minister.

The names and their tentative portfolios for the caretaker cabinet include:

Federal Ministers

  1. Ahmad Irfan Aslam - Law and Justice, National Resources, Climate Change and Water

  2. Shamshad Akhtar - Finance and Revenue, Economic Affairs, Satistics and Privatization

  3. Shahid Ashraf Tarar - Communications (Railways, Postal Services, Ports, Maritime Affairs)

  4. Sarfaraz Bugti - Interior, Overseas Pakistanis, NARCO

  5. Dr Gohar Ejaz - Commerce, Textile, Industries and Production

  6. Aniq Ahmed - Religious Affairs, Hajj, Interfaith Harmony

  7. Lt Gen (retired) Syed Anwer Ali Haider - Defence, Defence Production, Aviation

  8. Umar Saif - Information Technology and Technology Ministry

  9. Jamal Shah - National Heritage and Culture

  10. Murtaza Solangi - Information and Broadcasting Minister

  11. Dr Nadeem Jan - National Health Services, Regulation And Control

  12. Jalil Abbas Jillani - Foreign Affairs Ministry

  13. Muhammad Ali - Energy and Power

  14. Muhammad Sami Saeed - Planning and Development

  15. Madad Ali Sindhi - Federal Education, National Harmony, Youth Affairs

  16. Khalil George - Human Rights, Women Empowerment


  1. Air Marshal (Retired) Farhat Hussain - Aviation (Equivalent to Federal Minister)

  2. Ahad Cheema - Establishment (Equivalent to Federal Minister)

  3. Waqar Masood - Finance (Equivalent to Minister of State)

Special Advisors (Equivalent to Ministers of State)

  1. Mishal Hussain Malik - Human Rights and Women Empowerment

  2. Jawad Sohrab Malik - OVerseas

  3. Vice Admiral (Retired) Iftikhar Rao - Maritime Affairs

  4. Wasih Shah - Tourism

  5. Dr Jehanzeb Khan - Government Effectiveness / SIFC

  6. Syeda Arifa Zehra - Education and National Harmony