Maryam Nawaz Makes Parliamentary Debut As Punjab's MPAs Take Oath

Former federal minister Marriyum Aurangzeb joins provincial assembly for next term, while Malik Ahmed Khan files nomination papers as next PA  speaker

Maryam Nawaz Makes Parliamentary Debut As Punjab's MPAs Take Oath

As many as 313 elected members of the 371-member Punjab Assembly took oath of the assembly on Friday.

The provincial assembly was due to convene at 10 am on Friday morning, but it met two hours later at around noon.

Former Punjab Assembly's speaker Muhammad Sibtain Khan chaired the 42nd session of the assembly. Until a new speaker is elected, the previous speaker will continue in his seat.

While administering the oath, Sibtain said that the newly inducted MPAs would discharge their duties in a manner that meets the aspirations of the masses.

Elections for the speaker and deputy speaker of the house will take place on Saturday.

PML-N brings 'Nawaz Sharif' back to PA

PML-N members, who hope to form the next government in the province with support from its allies, brought pictures of deposed prime minister Nawaz Sharif into the house for the oath taking ceremony.

Earlier, the former prime minister's daughter, Maryam Nawaz, gave up her National Assembly NA-119 seat to take up a position in the provincial assembly. She took the oath of the assembly alongside former federal information minister Marriyum Aurangzeb (who has joined the provincial assembly on a reserved seat) and 215 party members and allies. They include the likes of Hamza Shehbaz, Azma Zahid Bokhari, Hina Parvez Butt, Uzma Kar Dar.

PML-N Vice President and Chief Organiser Maryam Nawaz has been nominated by her party for the slot of provincial chief minister.

Malik Ahmad Khan has submitted his nomination papers for the provincial assembly speaker and will likely undergo elections on Saturday. Elections for the deputy speakers will follow. Both elections will be held through secret ballot.

The PML-N has 36 women-reserved seat members and five seats reserved for minorities.

There were also 91 members of the Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) in the house. Most SIC members are Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) backed independents who joined the SIC to secure their corresponding reserved seats. The ECP has yet to decide on the reserved seats allotted to the SIC.

It is pertinent to note that on February 8, some 138 independents had won the elections. However, with as many as 20 independents joining the PML-N, it took its overall tally in the assembly past the 186 seats it needed.