Govt Forms Legal Team For Nawaz Sharif's Return

Govt Forms Legal Team For Nawaz Sharif's Return
The government on Sunday formed a committee of its top lawyers to chart a legal route for his return to Pakistan.

Formed by Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif, the committee will be led by Federal Law Minister Senator Azam Nazeer Tarar.

Other members of the committee include Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Interior and Legal Affairs Attaullah Tarar and Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Accountability Irfaq Qadir, among other legal advisors.

Amjad Parvez and other lawyers, who have been following cases pertaining to Nawaz Sharif, have also been included in the committee.

The committee has been tasked with ensuring that cases against Nawaz Sharif are expedited towards culmination. They will also focus on resolving any other legal obstacles in Nawaz Sharif's return.

Earlier on Sunday, the National Assembly passed an amendment to election laws whereby the disqualification of a parliamentarian under Article 62(1)(F) from contesting and becoming part of the parliament would be limited to five years.

READ MORE: Parliamentarians To Be Disqualified For Maximum Of Five Years

This means that not only thrice previously elected prime minister Nawaz Sharif, but the head of the newly formed Tehreek-e-Istehkam Pakistan (TIP) will become eligible for election to the parliament.

The amendment altered Section 232 of the Election Act 2017.

Originally, the law did not prescribe any duration for disqualification.
Disqualification on account of offences.— Where a person has been convicted for any offence under this Act or has been found guilty of any corrupt or illegal practice by a Tribunal, he shall, if the Commission is of the view that circumstances so warrant and makes an order to that effect, be disqualified for such period not exceeding five years as may be specified in the order from being, or being elected as a
Member of an Assembly, the Senate or a local government.