Exodus Continues: PTI’s Usman Buzdar Quits Politics Citing May 9 Riots

Exodus Continues: PTI’s Usman Buzdar Quits Politics Citing May 9 Riots
Former Punjab chief minister Usman Buzdar is the most recent Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) politician to quit politics in the wake of the deadly riots on May 9.

While addressing a news conference in Lahore, Buzdar said, "First and foremost, I denounce the events on May 9." "The military sites that were targeted were assets of the state of Pakistan, and I feel we should prevent similar situations," he added.


Buzdar, whose tenure as Punjab's chief minister was terminated in March 2022, declared that he has consistently supported Pakistan's military services and will do so in the future.

The former chief minister, who was formerly thought to be close to PTI Chairman Imran Khan, stated, "I have always committed to politics of nobility, but due to the current circumstances, I have decided to quit politics."

The former chief minister urged all parties to come to a compromise and urged the government to free everyone who was innocent.

After Khan's party members attacked military facilities, notably the General Headquarters in Rawalpindi, after his detention on May 9 — a day the army named "Black Day"—they have been feeling the heat of the state's power.

The army has mandated that anyone responsible for attacks on military sites be prosecuted under the Pakistan Army Act and the Official Secrets Act, and thousands of PTI workers have been detained in connection with the violent demonstrations.

Asad Umar, a close associate of Imran Khan, resigned from his positions as secretary general and core committee member, citing the current circumstances.

Since the vandalism on May 9, a number of PTI leaders and legislators, including Fawad Chaudhry, Shireen Mazari, Aamir Mehmood Kiani, Malik Amin Aslam, Mahmood Moulvi, Aftab Siddiqui, and Fayyazul Hassan Chohan, among others, have publicly condemned the attacks on the state installations and declared their intention to leave the former ruling party.