Top Ten Constituencies To Look Out For In The 2024 Election

TFT selects 10 constituencies, each one a hotbed consisting of bitter electoral rivalry and political fight for power.  

Top Ten Constituencies To Look Out For In The 2024 Election

With 266 polling stations open for the 2024 elections. Out of the 266, 141 are part of Punjab. Given the political strength of Punjab, this particular province is seen as the ultimate win in the election as any political party with a majority here forms the government. 

1. NA 130

This is where PML N supremo Mian Nawaz Sharif is standing for election. Previously this was NA 125 and has historically been a secure PML N seat. This time standing in opposition is PTI stalwart Dr Yasmeen Rashid. From the PPP there is Iqbal Ahmed Khan, JI’s Khaleeq Ahmed Butt and from the TLP there is Khurram Riaz

2. NA 119

Dynast and daughter of Mian Nawaz Sharif’s daughter Maryam Nawaz is standing for election from this constituency. This area is considered to be a secure PML N constituency and this is the first time she is standing for a national seat from here. Her political opponents and contenders consist of PTI’s Shehzad Farooq (Mian Abid Farooq’s brother), PPP’s Iftikhar Shahid. Maryam did try to stand for election from this constituency in 2018 but was unable to do so.

3. NA 122

Here we have PML N’s Khawaja Saad Rafique who is standing in opposition to Sardar Latif Khosa, who was ex Governor Punjab and a member of the PTI; Khosa is now standing as an independent candidate. There is also Dr Zeba from the JI.

4. NA 123

 Shehbaz Sharif is standing for election from NA 123 in Lahore and NA 132 in Kasur. From NA 123, his political opponents include PTI’s Tanzeem Azeem, JI’s Liaqat Baloch and PPP’s Muhammad Zia ul Haq. In the previous election, Shehbaz Sharif defeated the PTI candidate by 46,000 votes and went onto become the Prime Minister.

5. NA 127

For the first time, Bilawal Bhutto Zardari will be standing for election in Lahore NA 127. His opposing candidate from PML N is Atta Tarar and Malik Zaheer Abbas Khokar (who was part of the PTI but is now standing as independent candidate). Senior journalist and commentator Iftikhar Ahmed predicts that Bilawal is unlikely to secure a win here.

6. NA 128

Aun Chaudhary is representing Jahangir Tareen’s party IPP. Also contesting from here is a new entrant Salman Akram Raja who is representing the PTI and also happens to be Imran Khan’s lawyer. Due to lack of a PML N candidate, Raja’s victory is expected.

7. NA 149

This is located in Multan and this is where Jahangir Tareen will be standing for election. Standing in opposition as an independent (previously associated with the PTI) is Aamir Dogar. Dogar has secured success twice before from this constituency and in 2014 he defeated Makhdoom Javed Hashmi as well.

8. NA 151

This constituency consists of two tehsils in Multan – Shujabad and and Saddar. This is where Shah Mehmood Qureshi has always stood as a political contender but this time he is unable to do so.  In 2018 his son Zain Hussain Qureshi stood for election and won against Yusuf Raza Gillani’s son Musa Gillani. In 2022, Musa Gillani and PML N’s Abdul Ghaffar Dogar came together to defeat Shah Mehmood Qureshi’s daughter Meherbano Qureshi.

9. NA 18

This is in Haripur where PTI’s Secretary General Omar Ayub Khan is contesting and his political opponent is PML N’s Babar Nawaz Khan. In 2018 Omar Ayub Khan secured a victory with 172,000 votes.

10. NA 242

This is located in Karachi. MQM’s Mustafa Kamal and PPP Qadir Mandokhel are competing against each other. In 2018 PTI’s Faisal Vawda defeated PML N’s Shehbaz Sharif where Vawda secured 35,300 votes and Sharif 34,700 votes. After Vawda became a Senator, PPP’s Qadir Mandokhel won against PML N’s Miftah Ismail